Multiple Teams · Former Lady Panther Wins National Title

UTA women’s team wins first national wheelchair title

Ortega pictured 5th from the right



UT Arlington’s Movin’ Mavs have long been a power in collegiate wheelchair basketball. Now the much newer Lady Movin’ Mavs have a banner of their own.

The women’s team, only a couple of years old, won its first national championship over spring break, defeating top-seeded University of Illinois 65-51 in the National Wheelchair Basketball Association intercollegiate tournament in Edinboro, Pa.

Rose Hollermann, a 2012 U.S. Paralympian and the 2015-16 NWBA Collegiate Player of the Year, led the way with 35 points, nine rebounds and seven assists.

“We’re bringing this title and trophy back to UTA and dedicating it to the late, great coach Jim Hayes, who passed about 10 years ago,” Lady Movin’ Mavs coach Jason Nelms, also a two-time U.S. Paralympian, told the UTA news office.

Hollermann was named the first Dr. Tim Nugent Tournament MVP for her performance. She shot 27 for 38 for 66 points in two games, with 16 rebounds and 12 assists.

The Movin’ Mavs men’s team captured third place, defeating Illinois 63-59 in overtime.

The duo of Andy Kraft and Jan Gans combined for 54 points and 21 rebounds.

Patrick M. Walker: 817-390-7423, @patrickmwalker1